
Thu Jan 16, 2003, 10:57am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Viking32
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Viking32
JR - I thought Nevada was pretty clear and precise about quoting the rule book and interpreting it to his situation. The rules committee, in my opinion, took out most of the ambiguity and doubt with this.
If they release the ball (try or not) from behind the arc and it hits a defender (whether attempting to block the shot or not) it's worth 3 points. End of story. It takes the official's opinion on whether or not he was attempting a shot out of the equation, and makes it easier to interpret the rule.
Go back and read the rule book, then take a look at his situation. This one seems cut and dried.
|
End of story?Go back and read the rule book?
I have been quoting the rulebook. I think that you should go back and re-read this thread.Then look up in the rulebook:
1)when a shot legally ends(R4-40-4)
2)the definition for goaltending,specifically 4-22-1a,b&c.
3)read casebook play 4.4.40.SitB-"the three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring".
4)then go through the rulebook and find out the difference between "legal" and "illegal touching" on a shot.
When you've done that,please let me know if you still think that the basket should still be a "three".
You're trying to apply a rule for one specific situation to a completely different situation.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jan 16th, 2003 at 09:40 AM]
|
OK. We need to take a step back here.
The original post has nothing to do with a shot. Quoting the rule book on a shot is irrelevant. As was said previously, the rule was changed last year. If A1 is outside the arc and throws a pass off of B1's head and the ball goes through the hoop, it is worth 3 points now.
Please, read the part of the rule book that Nevada referenced and disregard whether or not a shot was attempted. It doesn't matter anymore.
1)when a shot legally ends(R4-40-4) - No shot was attempted
2)the definition for goaltending,specifically 4-22-1a,b&c. - no shot attempted, no goaltending rule needed.
3)read casebook play 4.4.40.SitB-"the three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring". - Again, no shot attempted.
4)then go through the rulebook and find out the difference between "legal" and "illegal touching" on a shot. - Once more, no shot was attempted.
I apologize for putting "go back and read the rule book." It should have been "go back and read the right part of the rule book." There was no shot attempted in his example, please do not quote that part of the rule book when trying to interpret the correct rule for this situation.
To answer your final question. When someone is standing behind the arc, throws the ball and it goes off of a defender into the hoop, it is worth 3 points.
|
2002-2003 Casebook (FED) sitch 5.2.1C This nails this shut. Ball THROWN (not a try) by A from behind 3 point arc that legally touches b player (regardless of his/her position inside or outside 3pt arc) and enters basket count 3 points.
|