Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Because Dan,
If a ball bounces from the front court and touches a player in the back court, the ball is in the back court where the player is.
Per the rulings I question:
If the ball bounces from the back court and touches a player in the front court, the ball is still considered to be in the back court where the player is not.
Doesn't feel right.
mick
|
NCAA 9-11-1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his/her back court when the ball came from the front court while the player's team was in control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court.
It seems to me the wording could be clearer but I don't read it such that the player hmself is required to be in the back court, just the ball. Similar sitch: A1 in the FC by the division line fumbles the ball into the back court and then touches it without leaving the FC. BC violation, no?
Another twist... What if in the original play the ball bounces twice, once in the BC & once in the FC before A2 grabs it?