View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 10:48am
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Question Mick,

I too am mystified by your confusion on this call Mick. This looks like a text book violation. Remember, it is not where the ball is presently, it is the fact that the ball ever hit in the backcourt that causes the violation.

Say that A1 throws a bad pass from an area near the baseline. The pass goes over the head of A2 causing A2 to run desparately and jump across the centerline in an attempt to save a ball from going backcourt (i.e, the ball is going straight toward the backcourt and A2 must save it). A2's attempted save lands in the backcourt (not just on the line), then bounces back into the frontcourt, where A3 picks it up.

This is most certainly a backcourt violation. These cases essentially state the same thing. A had team control, ball was front court, A was last to touch before it went backcourt, and first to touch after it went backcourt.

The squirrely play where A1 throws the ball from the backcourt to the front court, it hits an official and bounces backcourt, then A2 catches it in the backcourt is just the opposite variation of this theme, and it is specifically addressed in case #4.4.4.

4.4.4 SITUATION: The official is in Team A’s frontcourt when he/she is contacted by a pass thrown by A1 from Team A’s backcourt. After touching the official, the ball. . . (b) rebounds to the backcourt where it is recovered by A2. Ruling: Touching the official is the same as touching the floor where the official is standing. . . In (b), the ball has been in the frontcourt and then has gone to the backcourt while in Team A’s control. It is a violation for A1 to cause the ball to go from A’s backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt untouched if A1 or a teammate is first to touch it after it has returned to backcourt. (9-9-2)
Reply With Quote