Quote:
Originally posted by Viking32
JR - I thought Nevada was pretty clear and precise about quoting the rule book and interpreting it to his situation. The rules committee, in my opinion, took out most of the ambiguity and doubt with this.
If they release the ball (try or not) from behind the arc and it hits a defender (whether attempting to block the shot or not) it's worth 3 points. End of story. It takes the official's opinion on whether or not he was attempting a shot out of the equation, and makes it easier to interpret the rule.
Go back and read the rule book, then take a look at his situation. This one seems cut and dried.
|
End of story?Go back and read the rule book?
I have been quoting the rulebook. I think that you should go back and re-read this thread.Then look up in the rulebook:
1)when a shot legally ends(R4-40-4)
2)the definition for goaltending,specifically 4-22-1a,b&c.
3)read casebook play 4.4.40.SitB-"the three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring".
4)then go through the rulebook and find out the difference between "legal" and "illegal touching" on a shot.
When you've done that,please let me know if you still think that the basket should still be a "three".
You're trying to apply a rule for one specific situation to a completely different situation.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jan 16th, 2003 at 09:40 AM]