View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 09, 2010, 03:23pm
CelticNHBlue CelticNHBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Live Free or Die Country
Posts: 175
Send a message via Yahoo to CelticNHBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Had a weird one at the 14U ASA National in Moline, IL last week. 1-1 count, R1 @ 2B. B2 bunts down the 3B line and it trickles foul. We reset with a 1-2 count. Eventually on a 3-2, B2 grounds out.
There was a can of worms ready to explode at this point, you guys were lucky the batter put the ball in play on this pitch. Luckily the OC was aware of their mistake and it may not have been too bad, but... if this was a called pitch (ball four, strike three) the sh!t was heading to the fan in most cases. I can see it now, PU and U3 have B-4 or S-3 but U1 has 2-0 count prior to the pitch. Batter is confused because they think it was 2-0 and doesn't know why she should be out (or go to first). Defense now has a glaring BOO in front of them if they are paying attention. This could not have ended any better for you than it did. Sometimes it is better to be lucky than good, I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
So ... what say you all? What would be the proper ruling if:
a) the OC appeals while B3 is at bat
b) the DC appeals while B3 is at bat
c) the DC appeals after B3 bats but before a pitch is thrown to B4

Can you get an out for abandonment on a batter, or only a runner and/or batter-runner? Is this merely a BOO?
mbc has covered this.
__________________
Wade Ireland
Softball Umpire
Reply With Quote