Quote:
Originally Posted by nebasketball
I am not an official, but do coach youth and am the boy’s coordinator for our town. I am actually trying to put together a short article (page or 2) for coaches that contains easy to read information about rules of the game (mostly the commonly misunderstood ones) with reference to where to find them in the rules book (we do provide books to our coaches, but I don’t think many read it or understand it).
So backcourt violation is one of them that’s on my list, but I might have wrong. I thought, per 9-9 art 1 and Case Book 9.9.1 Sit C, if the ball touches an opponent in the front court and goes to the backcourt where the team in control recovers then it is not a backcourt violation. Would appreciate you all setting it straight for me.
Thanks,
Steve
|
Steve, here are the criteria for a BC violation. All must be met in order.
1. Team control must be established.
2. The ball must gain Front Court status.
3. The team in control must be the last to touch the ball before it gains Back Court status.
4. The team in control must be the first to touch the ball after it gains back court status.
The situation that gets coaches and crowds upset is when the defense tips a ball in the front court; but before it goes into the back court it touches an offensive player. Sort of the "double tip" situation.