View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 04, 2010, 11:03am
bainsey bainsey is offline
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebasketball View Post
I thought, per 9-9 art 1 and Case Book 9.9.1 Sit C, if the ball touches an opponent in the front court and goes to the backcourt where the team in control recovers then it is not a backcourt violation.
Steve, I think we can sum this one up using your own words, "team in control."

In order for a backcourt violation to exist, a team has to be in control of the ball in the frontcourt. Let's say Team A has a throw-in (doesn't matter from where). A-1 throws the ball to A-2 in the frontcourt, but A-2 muffs the pass (touching the ball, but never controlling it), then runs into the backcourt to control the ball. This is a legal play, because a backcourt violation must have team control in the frontcourt in order to exist.

Another misunderstood objection in this case is, "but he already crossed the (division) line earlier. He still can't go back!" The truth is, once the ball is dead (out of bounds or some other defensive infraction, in this case), team control ends, and doesn't exist until the ball is controlled in bounds.

Team/player control is a huge part of the game's rules. There can be no team control until the ball is controlled in-bounds. A throw-in is not team control.

I hope this helps.

Last edited by bainsey; Wed Aug 04, 2010 at 11:10am.
Reply With Quote