Thread: Double Dribble
View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 01:03am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
A response to those in disbelief.

Guys this rule was changed LAST year. Here is the current wording:
5-2-1 ...A successful try, tap or thrown ball that does not touch the floor, a teammate or official, from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch line counts three points. Any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.

Now let's review the play that I first wrote: "A1 is behind the 3 pt. line and throws the ball into the lane where it hits B1 in the head and then goes into the basket without ever touching the floor."
1. Was this a thrown ball, from the field, by a player who is located behind the team's own 3pt. line? Yes.
2. Did the ball touch the floor? No.
3. Did the ball touch a teammate? No. It hit an opponent.
4. Did the ball touch an official? No.
RULING: It counts for three points!

In addition, the casebook play that accompanies this rule has been reworded THIS YEAR. Here is this year's wording:
5.2.1 Situation C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. Ruling: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.

My play falls under part (b) of this Case Book play and is ruled to be three-points.

It is my belief that since both of these were just updated, that they correctly reflect the rules committee's current view on this play. The Case Book play that JR has pointed out, 4.40.4 Situation B, which says to score two points, was not updated in the past two years. My opinion is that this was an oversight by the committee, and since they conflict, we should go with the newer ruling.

It seems that the main point of those taking the other side is that the ball was below the level of the ring when it hit the defender. According to the new wording of 5-2-1 this no longer matters. Adding the words "thrown ball" to the rule means that it no longer has to be a try. We now only have to look at where the ball was thrown from, and what it hit before going into the basket.

Hey, I don't write the rules, I just read them!
Reply With Quote