Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick
Funny enough, she is the authority in rulings for that rule code. Therefore, what she says is goes. The underlying issue was "incorrect application of appeal/game ending procedure." Other rule codes may take the stance that "game ends when the umpires leave the field, even if they go back on." That's fine, it isn't like the "big three" different on particular plays (I can think of two just off the top of my head). There are arguments on both sides, therefore it is a matter of interpretation.
|
I know everyone makes mistakes, and I wonder if you brought this part of the argument up for discussion if she would agree that she may have erred this time.
Quote:
know you, but I had the pleasure to talk with this person very recently. It is amazing the wealth of knowledge, including all softball codes and baseball. I even asked about another play, to which this person didn't answer until the play was found in a MLB case book. That book was standard gear for this individual, even on a trip that didn't involve baseball.
|
Oh my, you didn't just say this did you? I'm truly hoping this was a typo in some way. Otherwise ... well, I'll leave it at "oh my".
Quote:
Technically, they weren't "restarting."
|
Yeah - yeah they were.
Quote:
To the umpires, they were honoring an appeal for not re-entering a starter.
|
Illegally and incorrectly.
Quote:
Therefore, to the umpires the game never did end.
|
Except that by rule it did, when they left. Check your book.
Quote:
Like I have stated before, other rule codes may consider the ending to the game as being absolute, and coaches are protected from having to make an appeal. For this rule code, the end to the game wasn't until the umpires said the game ended (after extra innings were played).
|
I grant that I have not worked 100% of the rulebooks out there. But EVERY SINGLE ONE that I've read or worked tells you exactly when the game ends and in this case, the game was over. If this is wrong (and you keep avoiding the ruleset) - please quote the relevant rule regarding appeals at the end of a game.
Quote:
Please read the play again. The visitors were still there because their (assist) coach was talking to the umpires. The umpires were NOT to their locker room at this point (on their way, about 50 yards from the field - they were not changing). You might mean "what if they home team had left?" I can't answer that question, didn't happen and therefore not needed of a ruling.
|
Yes, I got the teams backward... but answering this question IS relevant. It illustrates that the original ruling CANNOT be right - because if anything, the interpretation of a rule must maintain consistency across varying possibilities that still fit the rule. OBVIOUSLY, calling a forfeit (or making the other team return to finish this game later) is flat wrong ... and for the same reason that the ruling in the case you posted was wrong.
Quote:
BTW, this play isn't about an absolute wrong or right, and that's why this person gets paid as an interpreter. To say call this person "on high" and insinuate this individual doesn't have "real rules knowledge" is an inane statement.
|
Well, you've twisted my words a bit. This IS about right and wrong - everyone is fallible, and this ruling is WRONG (again, if I'm wrong about that, the relevant rule will help shed light on that). I did not, by the way, say or insinuate that the rules interpretor for your ruleset doesn't have rules knowledge (and on high was not meant as a slam ... not at all). Read what I said again.