Mike, the link was given. It's on another board.
To the OP, I would have a safe call, but not for the reason you are trying to get at. I do not have "safe" because the fielder did not maintain possession AFTER the tag. I have "safe" because the fielder did not maintain possession DURING the tag. The ball was not controlled DURING the tag because F2 did not hold the ball securely enough. As you can see in the video (and it is more apparent in the slow-mo), the ball is leaving the glove as the tag is applied.
ASA 8-8-G: The runner is not out:
When a runner off a base:
1. is touched with a ball not securely held by a fielder.
Dakota, I disagree. The ball was "snow-coned" before that, and the glove never actually hit the ground; his arm did.
Let's not forget, MLB might have a different rule regarding tags. They might require possession after the tag. I have no idea if this is the case, but just keep it in mind.
Last edited by PSUchem; Wed Jul 28, 2010 at 10:15am.
|