View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:12am
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggBob View Post
0-2 Count pitched ball hits in from of the plate, batter swings and ball goes directly from the bat the catcher?s mitt, where it is caught. The question is this a D3K, or a foul tip, or both, or a foul ball? Can the batter advance because of the D3K? Can runners advance because of the foul tip?

Thanks
Bugg
This was on the ASA exam a couple of years ago. Through me for a loop, but the key is that the rule reads that the runner can advance when the ball is not caught in flight (or something to that effect.) Since the ball hit the bat, it was in flight again.
________
Prilosec settlement info

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:26pm.
Reply With Quote