View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 11:25am
bainsey bainsey is offline
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits View Post
Bainsey, are you a Little League umpire? Seems like I see the most confusion in D3K rules from those with a Little League background.
No, sir! I filled in once for a LL game a few years ago, but that's beside the point. I'm not confused by this rule. I've known it for decades.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt
The reasoning is that the defense has to complete a play to get an out ... Without a caught third strike, the defense has not completed the play.
...unless first base is already occupied with fewer than two outs. Then the fact that the defense hasn't "completed a play" doesn't matter.

It's an inconsistent rule, and it ignores the fact that the pitcher met its defensive obligation when he earned the strike.
Reply With Quote