Thread: Sanity Check
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 09, 2010, 11:37pm
BretMan BretMan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
USSSA does have a rule something like this, but not for this situation. And it only applies in slow pitch!

Under their slow pitch rules, when a runner leaves early on a caught fly ball that is thrown out of play before the runner retouches, it's a two-base award with the base left early counting as the first base of the award. So, if the runner was left early from first, and was between first and second when the throw was made, she gets second base.

It sounds like the U-Trip "experts" you talked to are confusing that rule with the wrong situation- and the wrong version of the sport!

Last edited by BretMan; Fri Jul 09, 2010 at 11:40pm.
Reply With Quote