View Single Post
  #89 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 30, 2010, 03:45pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
That reminds me of another somewhat regular thing: the foul well after the release, particularly of the three-point shot.

We've all seen it. A1 launches a three, and B2 flies in and knocks into A1 well after the release. Based on the severity of the contact, I have these either as incidental or a non-shooting foul. I don't see how anyone can call a shooting foul under the circumstances, but they do.

Thoughts?
Protecting an an airborne shooter from illegal contact has been a POE at both the NCAA and NFHS levels. It's up to the official to determine first whether the contact on an airborne shooter is illegal or incidental. And if you do call illegal contact on an airborne shooter, that airborne shooter is in the act of shooting until one foot hits the floor. Case book play 4.1.1.

That's how and why you can call a shooting foul under those circumstances. If the defender knocks the shooter down while that shooter is airborne, you should have a call...and the correct call is a foul in the act of shooting.
Reply With Quote