Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
HUH?
If the ball is caught the runner has to retouch or be out on appeal. Why would it be an advantage to run to the next base and back? Or did you not understand what I said in the post (So if the fly is caught and you need to tag the run was not legally scored so you can retreat).
|
Not sure what you don't understand. If the ball is caught, the runner is safely standing on 3rd. If the ball is not caught, he's scored. So his tactic worked (assuming this is the proper interp of the rule... of which, I'm still not convinced.)