Thread: Eding the game
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 26, 2010, 12:40pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Bases loaded, two out, bottom of the last inning, tie game. Any rule set.

Batter draws a walk and touches first. Runner at third touches home. Runner from first to second never touches second and runs to join the celebration. Can he be called out for abandoning his base and it be a force out? If so then the run does not score.

If there is one out, then the run scores correct?

Rule 6.08 (OBR) talks about the batter-runner touching first BEFORE the runner there is FORCED to advance. That tells me that the runner is eligible to be forced out if he abandons his base without advancing.

Am I in the ballpark here?
In OBR ONLY the B-R and R3 need to advance.

In FED ALL the runners need to advance.

Don't even THINK of calling an out on abandonment - make the defense make a play or an appeal.

It would be a force if they do it, but don't even THINK of calling it on abandonment on your own. Erase the "abandon" rule from your mental databank. Assume it doesn't exist. It shouldn't exist because WAY too many people try to invent a reason the use it - almost always improperly.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Sat Jun 26, 2010 at 06:40pm.
Reply With Quote