Thread: Eding the game
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 26, 2010, 08:28am
Illini_Ref Illini_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Eding the game

Bases loaded, two out, bottom of the last inning, tie game. Any rule set.

Batter draws a walk and touches first. Runner at third touches home. Runner from first to second never touches second and runs to join the celebration. Can he be called out for abandoning his base and it be a force out? If so then the run does not score.

If there is one out, then the run scores correct?

Rule 6.08 (OBR) talks about the batter-runner touching first BEFORE the runner there is FORCED to advance. That tells me that the runner is eligible to be forced out if he abandons his base without advancing.

Am I in the ballpark here?
Reply With Quote