Thread: Tagging Up
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 11:22am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
Obviously a good question since there are 6 replies and not even close to an answer.......
,

How can you answer a question without all the data?

But if you want an answer, here it is.

If, IMJ, the runner is returning to 3B, he needs to retouch home or have turned directly TOWARD 3B to remain immune from an appeal at the plate.

If, IMJ, the runner touched the plate and started directly to return to 3B, he has placed himself in jeopardy to be retired.

Now comes the argument that once a runner has scored, the run has scored. Okay, I can buy that. However, if that is your belief, you must hold that a runner which touches home can never return, yet the rules clearly state that they may.

Hmmmm.....where do we go now?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote