View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 05:28pm
All_Heart All_Heart is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
This is probably not a big deal, but you guys are perpetuating a misconception. In fact, you've got it exactly backwards. If you read the NCAA rule, it says to reset on any held ball (NCAA 2-11.6c). So the situation you two are discussing is NOT an exception.

One of the exceptions (2-11.7e) is that the shot clock does not reset when a held ball occurs while there is team control and the team in control has the arrow.
2-11.7e does not apply because there is no team control.

Check out 2-11.7...Stop the timing device and continue time without a reset when play begins under the following circumstances:
i. After a simultaneous held ball as described in Rule 4-37 occurs during a throw-in or (woman) after an unsuccessful try that does not contact the ring or flange and the alternating-possession arrow favors the throw-in team
Reply With Quote