Thread: Does R1 score?
View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 02:17pm
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I think all this talk about 5th out appeal (which I would allow, as I believe that was the intent of the rule) has muddied the issue. What if, in the OP, R1 (from 3rd base) did tag properly.

The discussion is about rule 9-9-c. And how it's similar to 9-9-b. Does 99C mean that R1's run doesn't score because "no runs may score on a play where the 4th out..."
I'm pretty sure you meant 5-5-b and 5-5-c and you're right that in retrospect I wish the OP had just had R1 tag properly as this muddies things up.

To make this rule more annoying, if you read it the way you'd like to [and I would too for that matter], then you still have a problem, suppose in the OP that the appeal goes to third instead of second. I think it's safe to say that the intent was to disallow the run from second in that case, but you can't even remotely get there by rule unless you just go with the no runs shall score reading. [The preceding runner exception is in 5-5-b-3].
________
Volcano Vaporizer

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:24pm.
Reply With Quote