Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Thanks for adding the highlighted block. I wasn't sure I agreed with you until you stated this. It wasn't clear that you allowed for this option when you said it couldn't possible be a PC foul when a player makes a legal pivot....but it can be a PC foul as you now have clarified in the red text above.
|
The point that I was trying to make all along...and obviously not very well...was if the player with the ball
had his elbow outside his normally allowed space, then it wasn't a legal pivot if contact occurred. But if it was a legal pivot(elbow inside the normally allowed space--judgment call obviously), then you couldn't call a PC foul on the offensive player. That's the way that we've always called this type of play, I thought.
And what has to now be clarified from that NCAA POE is whether contact with an elbow on a defender above above the neck during a
legal pivot is now to be ruled as either being intentional or flagrant in nature. There seems to be some confusion on that one.