Thread: Goatending?
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2010, 12:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I believe the NCAA changed the rule recently. Now, if it hits the backboard, it doesn't matter whether it's going up or down. If it's above the rim, it's goaltending.
Close.
You might want to read his earlier post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Ah...no, we don't. What you describe is NOT goaltending in the NBA.

From the NBA Rule Book.

A player shall not:
During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.

This is the same as the NCAA rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote