Thread: Goatending?
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2010, 08:44am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbzebra View Post
Ok, may be a stupid question, but here goes

kid driving for layup, ball hits off backboard (layup style) still going up is NOT above the rim and is NOT in the imaginary cylinder, defender does his best LeBron "get-that-weak-mess-out-of-here" block of the ball after it hits the backboard (but again, with above parameters mentioned). NBA has it as goaltending. That we know..
Ah...no, we don't. What you describe is NOT goaltending in the NBA.

From the NBA Rule Book.

A player shall not:
During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.

This is the same as the NCAA rule.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote