Quote:
Originally Posted by vbzebra
Ok, may be a stupid question, but here goes
kid driving for layup, ball hits off backboard (layup style) still going up is NOT above the rim and is NOT in the imaginary cylinder, defender does his best LeBron "get-that-weak-mess-out-of-here" block of the ball after it hits the backboard (but again, with above parameters mentioned). NBA has it as goaltending. That we know..
|
Ah...no, we don't. What you describe is NOT goaltending in the NBA.
From the NBA Rule Book.
A player shall not:
During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard
above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.
This is the same as the NCAA rule.