Thread: Travel or not
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 12:20am
williebfree williebfree is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
I worked a rec game (NFHS) this evening with a relatively new partner. I made a "travel" call when teammates had simultaneous possession (joint control) of the ball.

After the game the young partner asked which rule states that the above situation is a "travel". We looked through the rules definitions and we could not find the rule that specifically identifies this as a violation.

Anyone able to help?

Further research in the casebook (4.43.2 situaiton b) indicates NO VIOLATION as long as neither player moves their pivot foot while in joint control of the ball.

[Edited by williebfree on Jan 12th, 2003 at 11:25 PM]
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote