View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 29, 2010, 09:21am
Toadman15241 Toadman15241 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 132
Rule 3.05- SD/WAS

So last night the Padres list a pitcher on the lineup card that isn't even in the major leagues. He had been optioned down to AAA and was on a plane from SD to Portland. After the top of the 1st, when someone else pitches for SD, WAS protests the game. Protest is moot because WAS won the game.

Now obviously WAS would have lost the protest anyway because of 3.05(c). If they wanted any chance they had to bring it to the umpires' attention prior to the first pitch of the game.

Fine, but the question is what the heck do you do if the skip comes to you prior to the first pitch and says, "Hey Mr. Plate Umpire, that isn't the pitcher listed on the lineup card."
Reply With Quote