View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 11:30am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Why isn't the defender allowed to still be moving at the time of contact in this situation?
Because movement is a privilege of having LGP...which requires having already been in the path.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There doesn't appear to be any upward movement by the offensive player prior to the contact. Isn't the defender allowed to be moving, even by NBE standards, in the case of guarding an opponent moving on the floor?
Not unless they already established LGP...which I don't think this player did.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
How much in the path of the opponent must he be? 100%, 90%, 80%, etc. If some of his body is in the path of the opponent, isn't he in his opponent's path?
More than getting his shoulder to the middle of the oppoenents torso while still moving in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I've noticed from the videos on the website in which contact occurs on the side of the dribbler or the defender that these are labeled as blocking fouls.
However, no where in the text of the rules does it state this principle or articulate that the contact must be in the front of the torso for a charging foul. Perhaps that is the way that it is being taught at that level, but if so, the teaching doesn't match the text of the rules.
It is not about being on the side vs. front, it is about having the torso IN the path of the other player's torso....their (and many others') definition of the width of a player's "path" is obviously narrower than yours.

I don't see that this defender was ever in the path.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon May 24, 2010 at 11:46am.
Reply With Quote