Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
No matter how you cut it, there was never more than 50% overlap of the torsos and the defender leaned to get as much as he did. Until just before the contact, you could see the offensive players numbers clearly and unobstructed. And with the offensive player's path carrying him to the inside relative to the camera angle, the actual amount of overlap was even less than it may have appeared from that camera angle. A player still moving in at the time of contact and getting, at best, 50% overlap is not in the path.
|
Why isn't the defender allowed to still be moving at the time of contact in this situation? There doesn't appear to be any upward movement by the offensive player prior to the contact. Isn't the defender allowed to be moving, even by NBE standards, in the case of guarding an opponent moving on the floor?
How much in the path of the opponent must he be? 100%, 90%, 80%, etc. If some of his body is in the path of the opponent, isn't he in his opponent's path?
I've noticed from the videos on the website in which contact occurs on the side of the dribbler or the defender that these are labeled as blocking fouls.
However, no where in the text of the rules does it state this principle or articulate that the contact must be in the front of the torso for a charging foul. Perhaps that is the way that it is being taught at that level, but if so, the teaching doesn't match the text of the rules.