YouTube - Rajon Rondo Hustle Dive For Ball vs Orlando Magic - 2010 Playoffs
I also saw the multiple replays on ESPN. Since I only use NFHS rules in all of my games, I immediately thought legal, or illegal, and how would I have called that in my high school game, in real time?
First replay: Illegal, based on the classic 4.44.5 SITUATION B interpretation.
Second replay: Wait minute? He's not holding the ball. The ball is pinned against the floor. Also Rondo did not "put the ball on the floor, rise, and (be the) first to touch the ball". The ball was already on the floor, and he was not the first to touch after standing, he was touching it the whole, entire time. Maybe this is a legal play? "When in doubt, don't be" has been drilled into my head by both Forum members, and by the powers that be in my local board. Since I'm not really 100% sure here, after further review of the replays, I'm voting NFHS legal.
Now, from a strictly rulebook interpretation, I welcome Forum members to please try to convince me otherwise.