Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWahls7
I'm new to ASA. I saw both of these. By ASA fast pitch rules, I have two scenarios:
First
B1 lunges for outside pitch, but obviously does not swing. Plate umpire calls it as a called third strike. F1 drops the pitch. B1 immediately runs to first safely with no throw from the catcher. Is the batter out?
Second:
B1 swings at a pitch and it hits B1. R1 is on first and runs to second (as if hit and run is on). F2 throws to second, and F6 tags R1 before touches second. What is the call?
|
First:
You didn't tell us if 1st base occupied, or how many outs. Once called a swing by PU, it is strike 3, and uncaught. Can't be undone once called strike 3, so the result of the play, if uncaught strike 3 applies, is the result.
Second:
There is no call to make. When batter is hit by pitch, the ball is dead, and no runner can advance. Batter swung, so strike ?? If it happened with 2 strikes, this is strike 3, and batter is out. R1 returns to first, cannot advance on a dead ball.