View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 09:54pm
NCASAUmp NCASAUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonA View Post
Here is the situation: (ASA rules, by the way)

Bases loaded, 1 out. IF rule in effect. BR hits pop-up to F3 who consequently drops ball (of course!) BR out on IF fly. R3 on 3rd leaves 3rd to try and score, while R2 trys to get to 3rd. Question is, is there a force at home?

Saw it ruled as such and wondered about it.
Once the batter-runner is retired, no runners are ever forced to advance to the next base.

So no, there is no force.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote