Quote:
Originally Posted by vcblue
U3 was set in foul territory in line with 2nd and 3rd. She had all elements in front of her. Sac Bunt poped up to F1 towards the back of circle. F5 playing up F6 goes to 3rd for the tag-up appeal. F5 also is going towards 3rd. she is on the baseline running towards third. The ball gets to 3rd before R runs in to F5. In my judgement the runner did not slow down one bit before running in to F5 therefore she was not impeded until she contacted (or moments before) F5. My understanding is NCAA is "about to recieve" which even gives more latitude to the situation because the ball was their a good second before contact was made.
The PU was on the line looking straight up to 3rd. IMHO he was blocked out from seeing the catch. Plus he signaled obstruction after U3 signaled an out. Of course I am seeing this on TV with instant replay and the ability to rewind.
|
Not defending the call, just trying to breakdown the possibilities. Yes, seeing the overall view from a remote camera is actually an advantage. But put yourself on the field.
Let's start with the "about to receive". That only permits the player receiving the ball to be in the basepath. From your description, that would have been F6, not F5.
Also, just because you see the arm come out does not mean, and I can pretty much guarantee it didn't, the OBS occurred at that exact moment. Apparently (or hopefully) the PU (Chad S) saw or heard something that initiated the call.
Jana T (U3) is just going to make the call at the base since it is still a live ball. This is something an umpire should always do unless they are the umpire which called the OBS.
I would like to think that at this level, the call can be substantiated and wasn't a piece of an OOO.