Quote:
Originally Posted by slowballbaker
Need help with this one...
A team starts with the DP/Flex. At the start of the game the coach tells the umpires that the DP will enter the game to pitch.
The DP then bats and gets on base, so the Flex enters the game and runs for the DP. Would this be considered a courtesy runner or a substitution or neither...
The next half inning the DP re-enters for the flex and pitches continues to pitch.
Then the next time the DP bats she gets on base again, then the Flex enters the game and runs for the DP again...
Questions: Is the DP/Flex under the same one re-enty rule???
Would the DP be a dead player at this time??
Or would this be considered a courtesy for the pitcher?
Thanks
|
The main point Steve was brewing is that a lot depends on whether the FLEX player leaves the game when the DP player is pitching.
In one strategy, she does. If so, that player can only run for the DP once, because that is a re-entry.
In the alternate strategy Steve was fermenting, the FLEX player just assumes some other defense position, so that FLEX player has not left the game. If so, that player can run for a DP more than once, but the original DP player can only return once.
Re-entry is about players, not positions, so each individual player is allowed and limited to one re-entry; regardless of what position they occupy. Each player including those identified as DP or FLEX is treated separately for re-entry.