Thread: Ruling
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 11, 2010, 10:30pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by pop300ln View Post
Runner on second, 2 outs ,ball hit to 3rd, throw to first on time but 1st baseman pulls foot off of bag, field umpire called runner out. Appeal to home umpire who overrules and call runner at first safe. How far can the runner on second advance ? Please give ruling. Is this a dead ball out?
The PU cannot overrule the BU.

The runner should be placed where the umpires believe the runner would advanced had the call been safe and the defense continued playing.

Since the initial call was the 3rd out of the inning, it is basically a dead ball
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote