View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 11, 2010, 03:05pm
ajmc ajmc is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
If the game simply ended during a foul free down that ended with a Fair Catch, the game would be over. If, however there was an accepted penalty, by either team, (other than USC, non-player fouls, LOD fouls and others specified in 3-3-4b), there must be an untimed down.

Since an untimed down is considered an extension of the period, B does not have an option about lining up. I suspect a competent Referee, explaining the potential ramifications of violating 3-6-3 (forfeit), could persuade a rational coach to accept the fact he needs to field some number of players for that untimed down and avoid making a complete and utter fool of himself.
Reply With Quote