View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2003, 01:38am
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by EddieLopez
Also 2 calls I had questions about:

1. On an inbounds for the home team, A1 passes to A2 while A2 attempts to go out of bounds from the other side to inbound to a teammate(The set inbound play if you will).
This is a girls' jv for god's sake I am thinking to myself, I get caught offguard and call violation. Home team coach is perplexed and I signal violation A2 was partially inbounds on the catch therefore inbounds on pass from A1 and out of bounds. I made this up on the fly and was not 100% although I felt it was the right one.
I assume you mean this inbound came after a made or awarded score, so two (or more) players are allowed to be OOB on the endline for the throwin. If A2 was touching only OOB when she touched the ball, she was legal. If not, then not. You'll just have to learn to be 100% on your calls. Remember the old saying, "if it might have been a travel, it wasn't". This goes for all violations.

Quote:
2. Visiting team inbounds on the floor I am the lead and halfway to A1 walking upcourt to pick it up, my partner calls 5 sec. I am like what? Visiting coach is calling me asking why did he call 5, I ignore him, he calls me again and I say,"The call was down there coach-missed it". I knew my partner made the wrong call. On dead ball I play dumb and ask him about it, he explains that the ball has to be touched in 5 sec., I think to myself" Cannot be" and say oh ok cool. What do you all think?
I think you have a partner who doesn't know one of the simplist rules in the book. Was he calling it this way all night long? If so, he is a giblet-head.

BTW - what does "ean xperienced" mean?




__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote