View Single Post
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 03, 2010, 03:00am
amusedofficial amusedofficial is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckfan1 View Post
Last summer in a Connie Mack semi at UC Irvine....a player threw his glove at a batter ball. Didnt make contact....so, nothing. After the game walking to our car, some fans behine were leaving and one guy said..."hey on that guy who threw the glove, why was there no penalty. I thought that was a rule.." We told him the glove had to hit the ball... that guy was Bobby Grich.
Hey, it sounds like he merely asked, for which I'd give him credit. In a world where Daddys consider riding the bench at some junior college to convey some sort of brilliance, I'm kinda impressed that a former MLB all-star would admit to not knowing the rule. Throwing your mitt at the ball is taught as a no-no from t-ball on up so I understand if he didn't know the penalty.

But then,Grinch's first MLB manager's autobiography is titled "It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." Of course said manager was E. Weaver who isn't exactly erecting shrines to us.
Reply With Quote