View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 09:00am
Ref_in_Alberta Ref_in_Alberta is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post
Today I read through the FIBA rules exam and realized that I still have some more learning to do. I was confused by question #9, which was:

B5 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A5. Coach A and Coach B are then charged with a technical foul. Shall the penalties for the technical fouls
cancel each other?

The correct answer is supposedly "no". Can anyone explain to me why the answer is no? I read Article 42 about Special Situations, but I'm still not getting it. What would be the proper way to handle the above mentioned situation?

Thanks for any help. You guys have been a great source of learning!
ABC,

No - That is correct answer.

Cancel the penalties in the order that they occur when the penalties are of equal weight.

Therefore in this case The Team B Unsportsmanlike foul and the Coach A Technical foul cancel each other. The result is 2 FT by any Team A player for the Coach B Technical. Team A would then get the ball at the division line for the ensueing throw-in.
Reply With Quote