View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2010, 10:23am
RKBUmp RKBUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Under Fed rules he is correct. Case study 8.2.5 Situation B. R1 is on third, and the batter receives a base on balls. The batter-runner runs to first completely in fair territory (outside of the three-foot running lane) the last half distance to first. The cather throws the ball to first and the throw strikes the batter-runner. Ruling: If the umpire judges that the batter-runner interfered with a legitimate play by the catcher, she should be called out. Comment: All bases must be run legally, even awarded bases.

Personally Im giving the batter the benifit of the doubt on a play like this and it better be pretty obvious that some kind of play was going on and not just some attempt to plunk the batter to get the call.
Reply With Quote