View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2010, 08:43pm
sloth sloth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 147
NCAA muff question

Gee that title sounds like the set up for a great joke...

Seriously, I'm looking for confirmation (or better yet a reference). I'm having one of those NCAA versus FED rules brain cramps. I know that in NCAA a free kick or scrimmage kick, untouched by recieveing team, must touch in the end zone before being blown dead as a touchback.

If the reciever muffs the ball (in either a free kick or a scrimmage kick and either in the field of play or the end zone) the ball is not declaired dead until either the ball is possesed by a player or goes OOB (the impetus being that the origional kick put the ball OOB behind the goal line in that specific case so that the result is a touchback).

I'm pretty sure that is the case, but I haven't been able to find the specific rule reference for the muff cases. I'm working a scrimmage as BJ this Saturday, so I really need to make sure I have this straight in my head.

Thanks!

sloth
Reply With Quote