Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Really? Team control with FC status isn't required? Other FIBA officials concur?
|
Not a FIBA official but from their ruble book:
Art. 14 Control of the ball
14.1 Team control starts when a player of that team is in control of a live ball because he is holding or dribbling it or has a live ball at his disposal.
10.2 The ball becomes live when:
During the jump ball, the ball is legally tapped by a jumper.
During a free throw, the ball is at the disposal of the free-throw shooter.
During a throw-in, the ball is at the disposal of the player taking the throw-in.
Art. 30 Ball returned to the backcourt
30.1 Definition
30.1.1 The ball goes into a team's backcourt when:
It touches the backcourt.
It touches a player or an official who has part of his body in contact with the backcourt.
30.1.2 The ball has been illegally returned to the backcourt when a player of the team in control of the live ball is:
The last to touch the ball in his frontcourt, after which that player or a teammate is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.
The last to touch the ball in his backcourt, after which the ball touches the frontcourt and then is first touched by that player or team-mate in the
backcourt.
This restriction applies to all situations in a team's frontcourt, including throw-ins. However, it does not apply to a player who jumps from his frontcourt, establishes new team control while still airborne and then lands in his teams backcourt.
30.2 Rule
A player whose team is in control of a live ball may not cause the ball to be illegally returned to his backcourt.