View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 02, 2010, 06:19pm
David Emerling David Emerling is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Pitcher drops the ball (FED)

Under OBR, with runners on base, I know that if the pitcher drops the ball while in contact with the rubber - it's a balk.

This happened to me during a FED game with a runner on base. I called it a balk. But I wasn't sure. I had forgotten the FED rule. The pitcher was taking the sign and simply dropped the ball. It did not cross the foul line.

When I got home, I looked it up. Here's what it says:

FED 6-4 say:
... A pitch dropped during delivery and which crosses a foul line shall be called a ball. Otherwise, it will be called no pitch. A pitch dropped during delivery with a least one runner on base would be a balk if it does not cross a foul line.
I'm thinking the phrase "during delivery" may be important.

How would you rule on the following:

In each case, assume there is a runner on 3rd and the pitcher is pitching from the windup position.

Case 1: As the pitcher is taking his sign (before the delivery), he drops the ball and it rolls just a few feet away but never crosses the foul line.

Case 2: As the pitcher is taking his sign (before the delivery), he drops the ball, it hits his foot, and the ball trickles across the foul line.

Case 3: As the pitcher begins his delivery, the ball slips from his hand and comes to rest just a few feel away but never crosses the foul line.

Case 4: As the pitcher begins his delivery, the balls slips from his hand and the ball rolls across the foul line.

The situation I had was Case 1 and I called it a balk. Is that correct?

Thanks!

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote