Quote:
Originally Posted by pastordoug
Ok..... I was wrong. FED 2-32-2c says sliding beyond and makes contact OR alters the play of fielder it is an illegal slide..... OUT.
|
Actually, it just defines an illegal slide; it says nothing about an out.
8-4-2-b, as previously mentioned, defines when an out is called for the illegal slide. On a steal, it requires a player in the immediate act of making a play. The OP didn't have that. As I said earlier, if it had, I would have called the out.
I was, and am, with JM and mbyron--I was just wondering if there is some FEDLANDIA interp superseding the rule, as there seemingly so often is.
In this case, it appears not.