Quote:
Originally Posted by pastordoug
Now, according to the FED rule. it seems like if a legal slide was made and that legal slide does not illegally alter the actions of the fielder contact beyond the bag should not be called as INT.... The only issue I see is a runner sliding "completly" past the bag causing contact which IMO could prevent a play on runner.... But I am seeing players come hard into the bag sliding past the bag but not beyond. I remembering seeing a discusion along these lines before....
|
If the runner slides beyond the base and makes contact with the fielder, it is, by definition, an illegal slide. Altering of the play is not required for there to be a violation.
I don't see a difference between "past" and "beyond" the bag. If the runner's foot goes beyond the bag, that is enough to make the slide illegal, assuming there is subsequent contact or altering of the play.