View Single Post
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 12:18pm
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckrefguy View Post
Smart a$$ We use FIBA, so no lame bailouts by calling time out.

Let's change the scenario a tiny bit.

Your guy does the same thing, but instead of "dropping" the ball and re-gaining possession, he forces the ball down, aka starts a dribble.

Violation? Yup - for moving pivot foot before dribbling.

The two plays are the same.
From FIBA official rules 2008:
Quote:
24.1.1 A dribble starts when a player, having gained control of a live ball on the playing court, throws, taps, rolls, dribbles it on the floor or deliberately throws it against the backboard and touches it again before it touches another player.
The OP's case is not a violation until the offensive player touches again the ball (FIBA rules). The start of the dribble is when the ball leaves the player's hands, but a travel or an illegal dribble cannot be called until the player touches again the ball.

Ciao
Reply With Quote