View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 09:36pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Here's one set of circumstances in which it occurs quite often. NF rules. Team A is going to inbound. A1 has the ball OOB. Before he can throw it in to a teammate inbounds, A2 sets an illegal screen on B1. Team B is in the bonus and will shoot 1 and 1. Since there is no team control during a throw-in, it is not a team control foul, hence the shooting of free throws.

My guess is that this was the situation.
Another possibility is that the contact with the screen occurred just after a shooter released a shot. If so, that would be after team control ended and subject to the bonus. (without commenting on the advisablilty of calling an illegal screen after a shot is released).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote