Foul ball
I overheard a response given by a senior official recently at an NFHS clinic. I thought it was incorrect, but I didn't know for sure.
I found the same scenario in 2009 ASA case book.
B1 hits a pop fly near the pitcher's plate. While moving toward the ball, F2 discards the mask. Without touching any player, the ball strikes the ground with backspin then hits F2's mask, which is lying on the ground in fair territory. The ball then stops in foul territory between home and 3B.
Foul ball. The mask is considered equipment used in the game and there is no penalty. It is treated the same as hitting a bat discarded by the batter. Hitting the mask in fair territory is a live ball until it rolls to foul territory, where it is ruled foul when it is touched or comes to rest. (1-FOUL BALL-A)
The response given was that this should be ruled a fair ball, since it hit the mask in fair territory.
I have the ASA ruling. Does the ruling differ from ASA to NFHS? I couldn't find a reference in NFHS or a similar situation in their case book.
Now if the catcher is still holding the mask, I have a fair ball.
Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Sun Mar 21, 2010 at 07:20pm.
|