View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 20, 2010, 06:16pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump View Post
1st debate.

High School ball. NFHS

Got into a nice little debate this evening with a fellow softball UMPIRE. Here's the question. A ball is hit and recochets off the pitchers glove toward short stop. The short stop comes up to make a play on the ball and is hit by the runner moving from 2nd to 3rd.

Is this interference.

I say yes, clear cut. He says it is OBS cause SS does not have the ball. He also said the 1 step and reach comes into play...HUH?
I don't believe NFHS covers deflected batted balls in the rule book like ASA does, but I believe the definition of Initial Play covers it.

Quote:

2nd debate.

Again NHFS

R1 on 1B, 1 out. 3-2 count on batter, shes swings at next pitch misses, F2 catches the ball on the bounce, BR takes off to 1B, running in runners lande all the way, F2 throws to 1B hitting BR in back. What have you got?
Well, running in the 3' lane "all the way" to 1B isn't possible. However, even part of the way is irrelevant since she is not a BR.

If there was a play on R1, then it is INT. If there is no play, I'm thinking DMC.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote