View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 07, 2003, 08:12am
Ref in PA Ref in PA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
You are missing a point

Perhaps the most important part of the exceptions of 9-9-2 is the NOTE at the end.

"The exceptions allow a player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. Only the player gaining possession is covered by the exceptions."

What you have to judge, as the referee, is if the landing is "normal". If so, no violation. You say it was a bang-bang play so it sounds to me as if the landing was normal. If you feel the landing was not normal, then you missed the call. As said previously, we didn't see it. Now, to put this issue at rest, was it a normal landing?
Reply With Quote