Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf
Contacting the board after a two-handed dunk is intentional.
If the dunk was from the very front of the basket, both hands would have to be released from the rim and travel 15 inches to the surface of the backboard.
If the dunk was from the side, the player would then have to turn his body and have one hand travel no less than 6 inches to the glass, with the other traveling upwards of 15 inches to the glass.
This is in violation of 10-3-4b is should always be penalized with a technical foul.
|
Disagree with above and agree with SmokeEater.
Whether the act of slapping the board was "intentional" or not is always a judgment call. See NFHS case book play 10.3.5COMMENT--
"The purpose of the rule is is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or as a means of venting frustration MAY be assessed a technical foul pursuant to rule 10-3-7."
Note the usage of the highlighted "may". That confirms Smokie's take on the call.