Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy
It is all part of the one single act of dunking. His head just happens to be in the wrong place, directly where the ball is going in the net. My opinion is that it is all part of the same act of dunking. How can the exception end when the players hands lose contact with the ball? The exceptions whole purpose is to say there is an exception while dunking to not be in violation of BI rules after the hands release the dunk. Just picture 99% of dunks the ball is released and then the dunker is hanging on the rim or at lease his hands are still on the rim AFTER the release of the ball.
|
I seem to recall some case play or interp where the player carries the ball into the cylinder (legal so far), then loses contact with the ball (still legal), then recontacts the ball with the hands (now it's illegal). I'd say the same thing happens if the subsequent contact is with the head.